Site navigation

SCAPP Directory of Practice and Expertise

SCAPP Directory of Practice and Expertise

As part of SCAPP’s ongoing activities to connect professionals engaged in widening participation research, evaluation and practice, we are working to develop a knowledge exchange of information and activity. This is designed to improve communication, sharing of practice and to develop a hub to enable collaboration, promote availability of research and evaluation or project funding, and to connect individuals or organisations where supply and demand of practice can be met.

We have developed a SCAPP Directory of Practice and Expertise to do this and colleagues across the sector are invited to input to this.   The Directory collates and publicises information about professionals engaged in the practice, research and evaluation of widening access and widening participation work within Further and Higher Education and the charity/voluntary and other public and private sector organisations.

The aim is to improve engagement across the roles and encourage collaboration and best practice sharing which can be disseminated and shared across the SCAPP network. This may enable us to, for example, connect those who are looking for research or evaluation work to be undertaken with those who are available to undertake that work.  We also hope to have best practice, networking and knowledge exchange events to which widening participation colleagues engaged in a range of activities can meet and disseminate work.

If you are interested in inputting to this Directory, we look forward to receiving information via the attached link below. There is no deadline to input to this Directory.

Input to Directory here SCAPP Directory of Practice and Expertise

I would be grateful if you could share this with colleagues within your network who you think would be interested in being part of this Directory.

If you require any further information at this stage, please contact scapp@stir.ac.uk

We hope that this is a resource that you will be interested in being part of and we look forward to hearing from you.

 

 

Alison Train

alison.train@ed.ac.uk

I work for LEAPS which is one of the SHEP SFC projects in Scotland. However LEAPS is also funded by our local university partners and we…

Andrew Comrie

acomrie@icloud.com

I am Director of Fair Access at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland ( part-time) and freelance educational consultant. I have worked in both further and higher…

Angela Vettraino

a.vettraino@dundeeandangus.ac.uk

I am the Academic Partnerships Manager at Dundee and Angus College My main interests and work are related to Articulation from college to university. I am…

Callum Maguire

cmaguire@qmu.ac.uk

I have been working with Queen Margaret University as the Head of Widening Participation and Outreach team since 2014, having enjoyed working in similar previous roles…

Catherine Reid

c.reid.2@research.gla.ac.uk

I am a PhD student examining Widening Participation and Scottish students, looking at how understandings of ability, potential and talent relate to young people’s decisions about…

Dr Joanna Marshall

joanna.marshall@gcu.ac.uk

My job role is Widening Participation Manager in the School of Computing, Engineering and Built Environment (SCEBE) at Glasgow Caledonian University (GCU). I have an educational…

Dr Karen Campbell

karen.campbell@gcu.ac.uk; karen@here.expert

Karen has over thirty years’ experience in educational research. She is Research Fellow at Glasgow Caledonian University, a Research Associate for the College Development Network, and…

Dr Katie Jones

katie.jones@thebrilliantclub.org

I am the research and evaluation consultancy lead at The Brilliant Club, a UK wide charity that supports less advantaged students to access the most competitive…

Dr Laurence Lasselle

laurence.lasselle@st-andrews.ac.uk

I am Senior Lecturer at the University of St Andrews, Scotland. I joined the School of Management in November 2013. I am a member of the…

Dr Liz Austen

l.austen@shu.ac.uk

I am the Head of Evaluation and Research (Student Experience, Teaching and Learning) at Sheffield Hallam University and Visiting Professor at Staffordshire University. I also work…

Dr Neil M Speirs

neil.speirs@ed.ac.uk

Neil is a Widening Participation Manager at the University of Edinburgh. Neil’s role involves working as a manager, practitioner and researcher in a number of areas…

Dr Sally Middleton

sally.middleton@abdn.ac.uk

I have had a wide-ranging career in the widening access sector, including lifelong learning, supporting mature learners and the research and piloting of recorded lecture technology…

Eva Hannah

e.hanna.1@research.gla.ac.uk

I am a doctoral researcher at the University of Glasgow, funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), under the supervision of Prof Alison Phipps…

Gemma Burnside

scotland-education@open.ac.uk

I am a Partnerships Officer at The Open University in Scotland. I have experience in designing, delivering and evaluation of primary and secondary widening access interventions,…

Gordon Leonard

gordon.leonard@stir.ac.uk

Currently head of international and uk partnerships at the University of Stirling. Spent 15+ years in China, initially as a student, later stayed to head up…

Janet Hiddleston

janet.hiddleston@sruc.ac.uk

I am an Educational Support tutor at SRUC Oatridge campus . Within this role I assess and support students with education support needs, students with SpLDs,…

Jennie Younger

jennie.younger@ed.ac.uk

Communications & Information Officer at LEAPS. LEAPS is a widening participation programme which aims to encourage and advise students who are traditionally underrepresented in higher education.…

Julie McDonald

j.mcdonald@dundeeandangus.ac.uk

I am Academic Partnership Officer at Dundee and Angus College. Areas considered for collaboration include: academic partnerships

Julie Wrigley

juliewrigley@outlook.com

Independent research and evaluation consultant, regularly partnering with long-time colleague Kerry Swain kerryswain7@hotmail.com. As a team, we offer a pragmatic collective approach with an ideal mix…

Kay Douglas

kay.douglas@ed.ac.uk

I am a Widening Participation and Outreach Coordinator, School of Geosciences at the University of Edinburgh. I support all aspects of the University of Edinburgh Widening…

Lesley Balfour

l.balfour@abertay.ac.uk

I am Director of UK Recruitment, Admissions and Wider Access at Abertay University with responsibility for contextual policy and college articulation partnership agreements. Areas considered for…

Lesley Dunbar

swapeast@ed.ac.uk

I am Director of SWAP East (Scottish Wider Access Programme). SWAP is a partnership of colleges and universities supporting adult returners, with few or no formal…

Lindsay Jack

lindsay.jack@ed.ac.uk

Lindsay (she/her) is Director of Student Experience at Edinburgh Law School, The University of Edinburgh. As an expert in widening participation into legal education and into…

Lindsey Orrock

l.orrock@dundeeandangus.ac.uk

I am the Academic Partnership Officer at Dundee and Angus College specialising in HNC/HND and Articulation to University. Areas considered for collaboration include: Academic Partnerships and…

Melanie Smith

melanie.smith@strath.ac.uk

Having worked in both the College and University sector, Melanie brings an extensive 14 years of experience of the Scottish tertiary sector, stakeholder engagement, partnership working…

Mrs Kerry Swain

Kerryswain7@hotmail.com

An independent research and evaluation consultant (www.linkedin.com/in/kerryswain/) regularly working in partnership with my colleague Julie (Juliewrigley@outlook.com). As a team, we offer a pragmatic approach with an…

Pamela Dobson

pamela.dobson@st-andrews.ac.uk

I am currently the Medical Admissions Manager at the University of St Andrews, and have previous experience of working at the University as an Access Manager…

Sam Macrae

samantha.macrae@outlook.com

I currently work as an ambassador for The Promise for Renfrewshire Council, ensuring that appropriate changes are made across the local authority to provide the best…

Stella Jones-Devitt

stella.jones-devitt@staffs.ac.uk

Stella Jones-Devitt is Professor of Critical Pedagogy at Staffordshire University and Director of SCoLPP (Staffordshire Centre of Learning and Pedagogic Practice) pedagogic research centre. Stella has…

Steph Kirkham

sck5@st-andrews.ac.uk

I am Access Manager, Schools’ Outreach Engagement, Admissions at the University of St Andrews. Availability for Collaboration: Schools outreach, sense of belonging, transitions. Research or evaluation…

Tracey Kerr

tracey.kerr@hw.ac.uk

I am the Widening Participation Manager for Heriot-Watt University, with responsibility for both day-to-day and strategic provision. I started off as a mature student, and worked…