Site navigation

Launch of new WP Evaluation Matters Community of Practice 2022

SCAPP welcomed 22 practitioners from 8 HEIs and 3 SHEPs (Schools for Higher Education Programmes) to the University of Stirling on 5th December 2022 to launch our new Evaluation Matters Community of Practice.

As a result of consultation with the community and with the support and guidance of the Evaluation and Research Working Group, the WP Evaluation Matters Community of Practice brings together individuals or small project teams from across the Scottish WP sector who share an interest in WP evaluation and who are carrying out an evaluation project this year. A final output from the Community of Practice that is of use to the Scottish WP sector will be agreed.

The aim of the Community of Practice is to work together by committing to share experiences and good practice, whilst supporting each other to learn how to undertake better evaluation.  The group will use and share existing resources such as the SCAPP WP Evaluation Guide and will identify training and support to help progress their own evaluation projects.

The launch event provided the opportunity to exchange project outlines, share hopes and identify challenges that they may have as they work on their projects and to make connections between groups and individuals in the Community of Practice.

The group have agreed to meet regularly during 2023, mainly online, and will be facilitated by Alison Browitt (University of Glasgow) and Jennie Younger (LEAPS), with support from SCAPP to identify and deliver appropriate training and professional development opportunities as the group work through their own evaluations,

We are excited by the number and range of evaluation projects which are taking place across Scotland and feel sure that this activity and the outputs from it will help to demonstrate the impact and importance of the WP interventions that our practitioners develop and deliver for our under-represented learners.

We will continue to update you on developments as this group progresses.

Further information available at